Eyeshield 21 2

Standard

Eyeshield 21 (2/37)
Inagaki Riichiro (Author)
Yuurata Yusuke (Artist)
(Chapters 8-16)

I was really excited to read Eyeshield 21, afterall the first volume was such a delight. I like Sena’s characterization. The friendship between Sena and Mamori is quite sweet since she got Sena’s back if anyone tries to bully him. She treats him like a kid just like in the past. But nonetheless it was one of the things that made the first volume good, well for me that is. After all I’m a romance junkie.

Anyway back to volume 2, see the problem I had with this volume was that it focused too much in the game aspect. I mean of course this is a sport manga afterall so that was a given right? I just wished it was like Hikaru no Go where a match doesn’t take up to 5 to 10 chapters nor the whole volume itself to finish.

The humor were still there, Haruma was still the comedic relief. I also found it quite irksome that Kurita would be called “fatso”, “fatty” or anything along the theme of him being fat. It happened quite often as well definitely quite offensive if you ask me.

In the first half of the volume I was still with the series. I loved the first chapter when Sena made a bold decision to stay with the football club. Mamori wants Sena to quit the team because she thought he’s being bullied by Haruma. When the game started it was still ok but then I found myself drifting away from the game and the series itself.

Sena got much of a character growth in this volume. It sucks that I couldn’t hold up my interest to this series. I mean it’s definitely great but it’s too much sport related for my taste.

Unlike Hikaru, Eyeshield presented the game in a manner of explaining every little detail but the problem is, it takes about more than 5 chapters to do so or the whole volume itself rather than brief summarization. If you are not a sport enthusiast, as me, you would just not care at all. You’d be better of watching a real sport. Even with its pretty consistent and whacky characters, Eyeshield 21 mangaed to lose my interest.

But for sport fans this might be an excellent series. It should be, since its one of the long running shounen series out there.

Leave a Reply

