Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun 4

Standard

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun (4/ongoing)
Robiko
Unrelease in English

Chapters 13-16

Santa, I want an English release of Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun for Christmas! Seriously this series should have been acquired for English publication long ago!

This is still the best shojo series I am currently reading and is one of the best I have read. Its that awesome!

In volume 4 most of the characters are given a fair amount of spotlight. I think this is one of a series that has a huge amount of characters that pretty much everyone is given a balance amount of focus. Very character driven and dialog/(subconcious-monolgue) heavy series. I LOVE IT.

I’m not going to review the content of the volume as I’m afraid I’ll be repeating myself over and over again but instead I’ll jot down pros and cons in this volume. But pretty much its the same as the past volumes, its still an amazing series. Not much happening story-wise but what makes this series terrific is the analyzation of the relationship of the characters. Nothing can top off a shojo series with a story that focuses on its characters interaction, well for me anyway. I’m a sucker for this kind of shojo instead of the usual filler-ish series with lots of trips, party, hence the irrelevant chapters that doesn’t contribute to its characters growth and development. Its not like Tonari doesn’t have party and trips but at least it doesn’t dwell on whats happening in regards to the circumstances around the characters but instead it focuses on developing its casts. Ugghh I rant too much nonsensical stuffs,

First off, A rival has been introduced well sort of, Yamaken is developing a liking to Shizuku. I like him very very much! I like his attitude, the ever so elitist and egoistic characteristic of his. His one of the best that has happened in this volume. He’s a mixture of Yamaki and Kyouka from Ouran High but his awesomer. Well for me anyway. I like his inner dilemma, I find it very amusing that he’s torn between his high pride and his undeniable attraction to Shizuku.

I also like Natsume much more this time around. She’s a very complex and ambiguous character. She’s hard to tell but I’m liking that she’s abit indesicive, and socially withdrawn person. I like her insecurities and uncertainties. Her “transient” liking towards Micchan as Sasayan watches out to her is somewhat sweet. There is no romantic feeling between Natsume and Sasayan but they are close and Natsume feels at ease around him so yeah there is the possiblity of romance there. Of course Sasayan is still treated as a background character in this volume which sucks!

Shizuku is still a great heroine! I love her. She is one of the best as well. I like her passion to aim high at her studies and her goal to have a job. She tries to balance out her growing relationship with Haru to her studies. She’s great and yeah I don’t mind if the author should decide that Yamaken and her ends up together. I like Yamaken enough, at least I don’t think it’ll happen though.

What I find a little bit of a bother is that Haru, whilst he is a great character, funny and often charming I just don’t like the fact that he’s overly Possesive of Shizuku. I understand that he might has some personality “problems” its just that I feel that sometimes he does things that is out of line. Well given that the title implies “A Monster” it should be expected. Haru is sweet around his friends but when it comes to Shizuku he gets possesive, it maybe nice but heck sometimes it feels abit cryptic as he come across as an obsessive person, which is not good.

Speaking of the title, one thing I find abit chagrin besides that, is the art cover of each volumes. It shows Haru with a chain leash on held by Shizuku. It can be misleading. If judging by these covers, I could think of alot of terrible things that might implicate about the story. Well anyway it maybe only me and I might be overthinking it.

Nonetheless Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a fantastic shojo series. If you are a shojo fan and haven’t check this one out, I shall encourage you, nevermind that I urge you to check it right now!

Still the best shojo series that I’m reading at the moment, sorry Kimi ni Todoke… but you is PERFECT. 😀

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is without a doubt HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Leave a Reply

