Doll 4

Standard

DOLL (4/6)
Mihara Mitsukazu
Tokyopop

Lists 19-24

I have a love and hate relationship with this series. It’s a good thing that its an episodic series that it allows you to just forget about the terrible chapters hence volumes.

Just when I gave up hope for this series, volume 4 delivered an outstanding set of stories. I love this volume and its the BEST one yet, much better than the first one and that is saying something!

Seriously after the last sickening volume I was dubious to pick up the next book, thankfully the series redeemed its amazingness. The quality of the stories this time around are all meaningful. Some are bittersweet while others are sympathetic and all has a message of hope and happiness. Its stories like this that fills the reader a sort of contentment and makes us appreciate the beauty of life. Its just a different tone and atmosphere, this volume..

As I said the stories contained in this volume are all great. I pretty much liked all of them, all are a standout. My favourite one is the story about the old man that deals with dolls that needs disposing off. He basically kills them by crushing but before that he could extract and see the memory of the life it lead. Its very touching, its one that stood out the most and the ending just had me stupefied for a moment.

I highly recommend this volume alone as you don’t have to read the former volumes. Well volume 1 is worth checking but this particular volume deserves to be read. There is an ongoing continuity of a certain story but then again you won’t get lost by not having read the last volumes. Its only the story about one particular guy who illegaly remodels broken dolls (or unwanted dolls).

I want to read the next volume! Crossing my fingers that the next one is as good collection of stories as this one. Its terrific and it makes up for the utterly disgusting last volume. So yeah Doll you got me hooked big time, please don’t ever stray and diverge into the dark side of human story again.

I doubt it though, I think the author is definitely going to tackle some disturbing theme latter on as she is trying to explore the different side of humanity. But nonetheless if Mihara Mitsukazu incorporates such stories presented in this volume I am more than happy read them; stories about treasuring life and finding true happiness. Its just gives you a sense of appreciation of life.

Leave a Reply

